Partners

NEWA partners understand that the value of weather data is greater when shared.

Fifteen land grant universities and grower associations partner together to build the NEWA network across 15 states. Created by the New York State Integrated Pest Management Program at Cornell University, NEWA is a partnership with the Northeast Regional Climate Center. NEWA’s weather station hardware partners areOnset Data Loggers and KestrelMet. Our funding partners are many, since our founding in 1995 and across our partners states; we acknowledge them on this page.

NEWA in New York State

The New York State Coordinator is listed here. Contact this person with questions about NEWA tools and resources in New York or find your NEWA State Coordinator in the listing below.

Growers in NEWA Partner States can link their own Onset Data Logger or KestrelMetweather station to the NEWA network at no additional charge. Visit our Buy a Weather Station to learn more.

Want your state to join NEWA? Visit our Become a Partner page to learn more about state-level membership.


NEWA State Coordinators

Find your NEWA state coordinator for additional information:

Connecticut

Victoria Wallace
University of Connecticut
860-885-2826
victoria.wallace@uconn.edu

Delaware

David Owens
University of Delaware
302-856-7303
owensd@udel.edu

Georgia

Ashley Hoppers
University of Georgia
706-632-3061
aahoppers@uga.edu

Illinois

Elizabeth Wahle
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champagne
618-344-4230
wahle@illinois.edu

Indiana

Janna Beckerman
Purdue University
765-494-4628
jbeckerm@purdue.edu

Massachusetts

Jon Clements
University of Massachusetts
413-478-7219
clements@umext.umass.edu

Maine

Lily Calderwood
University of Maine
207-581-2369
lily.calderwood@maine.edu

Sean Birkel
University of Maine
207-581-2369
birkel@maine.edu

Michigan

Keith Mason
Michigan State University
517-432-6520
eweather@msu.edu

Minnesota

Vacant
Minnesota Apple Growers Association
support@newa.zendesk.com

New Hampshire

Jeremy DeLisle
University of New Hampshire
603-255-3592
jeremy.delisle@unh.edu

New Jersey

Peter Oudemans
Rutgers, The State University
609-726-1590
oudemans@rutgers.edu

New York

Dan Olmstead
Cornell University
315-787-2207
dlo6@cornell.edu

North Carolina

Mike Parker
North Carolina State University
919-515-1198
mlp@ncsu.edu

Ohio

Melanie Ivey
The Ohio State University-OARDC
330-263-3849
ivey.14@osu.edu

Pennsylvania

Mike Masiuk
Penn State University
University Park, PA 16802
814-863-5903
mcm2@psu.edu

Utah

Brent Black
Utah State University
435-797-2174
tbradsha@uvm.edu

Vermont

Terence Bradshaw
University of Vermont
802-922-2591
tbradsha@uvm.edu

Virginia

Mizuho Nita
Virginia Tech
540-869-2560 ext. 33
nita24@vt.edu

West Virginia

MM Rahman
West Virginia University
304-293-8838
mm.Rahman@mail.wvu.edu

Wisconsin

Amaya Atucha
University of Wisconsin-Madison
608-262-6452
atucha@wisc.edu

Utah

Brent Black
Utah State University
435-787-2174
Brent.black@usu.edu


NEWA Funding Acknowledgements

Our funding partners have insured the success and continuation of NEWA. We acknowledge the contributions of all the farms that have purchased installed, and maintained a weather station. This support is priceless.

  • Cornell Cooperative Extension
  • Cornell University Agricultural Experiment Station
  • iPiPE
  • Garden State Wine Growers Association
  • Lake Erie Region Grape Processors
  • Michigan Cherry Committee
  • Michigan Apple Committee
  • Michigan Tree Fruit Commission
  • Minnesota Apple Growers Association
  • New York Apple Research and Development Program
  • New York State Berry Growers Association
  • New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets
  • New York State Integrated Pest Management Program
  • New York Farm Viability Institute
  • New York Wine and Grape Foundation
  • North Carolina Apple Growers Association
  • Northeast SARE
  • Northeastern IPM Center
  • Northeast Center for Risk Management Education
  • Natural Resources Conservation Service
  • New York State Agricultural Experiment Station
  • Pennsylvania Horticultural Society
  • USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture
    • CPPM ARDP
    • CPPM EIP
    • Hatch
    • NEED NERA
    • Smith Lever Funds
    • Specialty Crops Block Grants
  • USDA Telecommunications
  • US Forest Service Climate Center, Eastern Region
  • University of Massachusetts Amherst Center for Agriculture, Food, and the Environment
  • Virginia Wine Board
  • Viticulture Consortium – East
  • Wisconsin Apple Growers Association
  • Wisconsin Grape Growers Association

Page updated 4 January 2022 by D. Olmstead

Get a Weather Station

NEWA is compatible with special configurations of Onset and KestrelMet weather instruments. See what your options are.

Buy a Weather Station


Have a question?

Reach out to our support center and ask questions to get support for NEWA tools, resources, and weather stations.

Contact the NEWA Help Desk


Become a Partner

NEWA is a partnership of land grant universities and grower associations. If you live in a partner state, you can buy a weather station for your farm and connect to NEWA.

Learn More


NEWA Partners